Everyday Inspiration Day 7

Today, let’s look to Twitter for inspiration.

Below, you’ll see five tweets. Write a response to one of these tweets. Shape your post in any way you choose — agree or disagree with the tweet, or use it as a starting point for a story, poem, or something else.

Tweet I chose:

A tweet by @granddraws that reads, 'I can’t decide if procrastination kills creativity or is essential to it.'

I might not can decide that, but I can guarantee one thing. When it comes to procrastination, I am Queen of Procrastination. You want something procrastinated on, give it to me. You have my 100% guarantee that you get the procrastination you seek.

In all seriousness, though, procrastination is both. It kills creativity, but is also essential. When I say it kills creativity, I mean this: if you procrastinate long enough, the momentum and desire to write your piece dissipates. It fizzles out. That is the bad side of it.

On the other hand, procrastination can be good for the writer. If you are writing a story and get stuck, you might as well stop – albeit temporarily. This pause can give the writer a chance to mull over possibilities to break through writer’s block. Just maybe a solution makes itself known, that is the perfect fix for that story. Just do not let procrastination take control over you.

What is your take on procrastination? Do you feel it kills or helps creativity?

What other writing related topics would you like to see in my blog? Feel free to email me and send your ideas. Or, just post them in a comment for this entry.

For your convenience, I have linked my contact page here:

Contact Me

Leave a Reply

