Everyday Inspiration Day 1: I write because…

Today, tell us: why do you write? Set a timer and free-write for 15 or 30 minutes without stopping.

Ever since my elementary school years, I have loved to write. It started with my love of reading. Then, my favorite class, English. When the teacher would give us writing assignments, I was eager to get pencil to paper. I would sit at my desk, tongue stuck out in concentration, and write away. Writing naturally became my favorite part of English class.

During my school years, my love of writing helped me with the writing assessments given periodically. While other students groaned with dread at the word “writing assessment,” I felt excitement and joy. I always looked forward to it. These assessments put my writing ability to the test. It is a good thing I loved English! Otherwise, I might never have had this love affair with writing.

I love to write for many reasons. One, of course, is that it is cathartic. To me, writing helps me cope with, and heal my life. Granted, my life is not that terrible. However, it can be stressful. The feelings of hopelessness and sadness, memories of moments I regret, and just when I feel I cannot take anymore combined. Two, I love to write poetry, short stories, essays, and so forth. It is fun to create new worlds, situations, and people. Last, but most important, I enjoy it. That is the best part. The joy I feel when I write.

Someday, I will be a published children’s author. I do not know when. Somehow, it will come to pass. I look forward to having a career in writing. I will write and edit books, whether I write my own or edit another’s. It is my dream career.

Why do you write?

Leave a Reply

