Day 4: Blogging 201

Today’s assignment: do a basic stats analysis to help you create an editorial calendar for the next 30 days.

This assignment was a learning experience! Since I just started my writing blog, I am grateful for the knowledge I gain each day.

I discovered that Tuesday was the most popular day for my blog to be read. The most popular time? Lunchtime – 12:00 p.m.! Now, that is something! People enjoying their lunch, while reading my blog? How wonderful! As silly as this sounds, I just figured out how to find out which posts were popular – by comments. Now, if I can only do that with “likes.” Otherwise, I will be scrolling down through my blog entries a while. Coffee anyone?

Another new concept, for me anyway, was brought to my attention. I am sure my fellow Blogging 201 mates had a similar reaction. Calendars anyone? I am sure I have a few to spare. I seem to collect a lot of different calendars and planners these days. Too many to choose from, and I want them all – especially ones with cats, butterflies, dragonflies, or hummingbirds. What is a writer like me to do?

The idea of the editorial calendar kind of terrifies me. I am the world’s best procrastinator! Yes, it would be a good way to plan out my blog posts, when to post them, and so forth. However, the test comes when real life has me spread too thin. How am I supposed to meet this deadline and balance everything else – without pulling out my hair (or banging my head into the wall)? It can be done, but I sure better improve my time management skills! Or, I am in trouble! I will give this editorial calendar a try. Who knows? I just might like it and be able to stick to it! Won’t that be nice? It will definitely help me towards my dream of being a published children’s author.

Here is my question to you:

Do you use an editorial calendar? If so, does it make your writing more smooth? Or, does it stifle your creativity?

I look forward to seeing what kind of answers I get.

 

2 thoughts on “Day 4: Blogging 201

  1. I don’t use it as in having ideas put on it. I should do. I do write posts ahead, but I’m always running in on myself in the end. I love lists of prompts – the more the merrier, because I’ve learned the hard way that if a prompt doesn’t speak to me, I don’t write the post for that day and if I stop writing, blog pauses tend to last endlessly lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Writing posts ahead is a good idea. That is why the scheduling WordPress offers is a great idea. It definitely comes in handy if you are gone for a couple or so days.

      I have not written in my blog a couple of days. I have been exhausted after work. So, now I will be playing catch up again. Lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

