Day 29 of PiBoIdMo 2015

Yay! Even closer to being caught up on my progress reports for PiBoIdMo!

Whew! Almost…there… One day left of PiBoIdMo. I…can…do…it. These past twenty-nine days have been wonderful. I have read many enlightening, helpful, and sometimes humorous, articles. The authors and agents writing them have been wonderful mentors. They have been supportive of the participants of the challenge. I love their positive attitude. That ray of sunshine is welcome, when dealing with any writing challenge (and writing in general).

The author of the day was Arree Chung. His article was about how to “…make an idea work when it’s not working.” I am sure that all of us have been down that road many times. That is one road trip I can live without.  When an idea is not working, he made it known that it does not have to be thrown out. It just needs a bit of tweaking. Arree spoke about how, sometimes when he has an idea for a story, he likes to “start with a strong feeling.” In other words, bring that strong feeling into the first draft of your story. Think about your favorite stories and the emotional connection you feel to them. Any emotion counts: love, nervousness (the butterflies in your stomach kind), kinship, and so forth. Share your idea(s) with someone you trust. As with the sharing of any writing idea, it is wise to be cautious. The other tips Arree offered were the following:

  • If your idea is not working, try starting with a new scenario.
  • If your idea still is not working, leave for a bit, then return with a fresh pair of eyes.
  • Put it all together into the masterpiece you are dreaming of.

I find his points valid. Especially when it comes to stepping away from your work.

I mean, how many times have you read and reread, something you wrote? You keep going over it to see what improvements need to be made – grammar/punctuation, strong words as opposed to weak (e.g. sapphire sky vs blue sky), and so forth. You get so frustrated, that you throw your papers up and let them fall as they may. Walk away for a bit. Come back a couple of days later and try again. You can think clearly now. You will find what you are looking for.

I used to spend hours trying to figure out what was wrong with my writing. I would not stop until it came to me. Finally, someone told me to just put my piece down for a bit, and come back later to it. To my surprise, that actually worked for me. Success! I have not looked back since. Oh, by the way, I will share another thing that helps me. When proofreading and editing my writing, I will read it forward first. Then, I will read the piece backward. You would be surprised at what you can catch that way. You will ask yourself, “Why didn’t I see that before?” Trust me, it works. That is why I wanted to share my little trick with you. It helped me, and I want it to help you too.

To read Arree’s article, go here:

Arree Chung Gets an Idea OUT and Makes it Work

Your idea may not work the first time, but, all it takes is a little tweaking. You can do it. I believe in you.

Leave a Reply

