Day 25 of PiBoIdMo 2015

Okay, okay. I hear what you are saying. “You are just now posting progress updates on your PiBoIdMo challenge!” Yes, I am. Every writer knows that holidays are the best times to fall behind with ANY writing. That is why I am playing the “Catch Up” game – this time. The challenge is almost over, and every day I am grateful I participated in it. I should sign up for challenges like this more often! It sure helps with getting those ideas to the paper. It also helps me get into a regular writing routine, OR pick up where I left off with the last one.

The author for Day 25 was AJ Smith. AJ teaches Children’s Book Illustration at Montserrat College of Art – and high school art. Talk about being lucky! An author, teacher, and children’s book illustrator all at once! His article was quite lengthy. I am not complaining. The thirteen suggestions offered, to help other writers come up with ideas, were things I believe all writers should have in their writing arsenal. They would definitely help with writer’s block! AJ even gave us permission to use the examples he used with those suggestions, as our own idea springboard. Thank you, AJ! He even went in depth about the emotional needs and wants of children, as well as how to incorporate this into your story. Specific, simple, and explained well. AJ knows how to make writing fun. I will share, with you, a piece of this article I found helpful:

“…kids have very basic emotional needs:

  • a. The need to feel empowered or be in control,
  • b. the need to succeed/win or master a skill,
  • c. the need to nurture and help,
  • d. the need to love and be loved and/or receive attention/acclaim.”

He also went on to list specific fears by age for us. That is one list I had to copy down in my idea notebook. I did not want to forget it! I have read many articles to date, but, I truly believe this is the best one yet.

Here is the link to the article for Day 25:

AJ Smith Goes Over the Limit

I am truly glad this article was a part of PiBoIdMo 2015. It is helpful. I now have a better understanding of what to write for the different age ranges of children. I hope this article broadens your education for your craft, as it has for me.

Shameless Plug: “On Writing” by Stephen King

This is one of the best books on writing out there. I have read it. “On Writing” is a must-have for all writers’ bookshelves. Forget checking it out at the library, I am buying myself a copy. I highly recommend it for you too. He might be the “King of Writing Horror,” but Stephen King knows what he is talking about.

4 thoughts on “Day 25 of PiBoIdMo 2015

    • The goal of my blog is to share my love of writing and experiences. I also enjoy sharing various articles about my craft with others. If it helps me, I am sure another writer will get the same benefit.

      I want my readers to be able to read through the posts without stumbling over words. I do not need to be fancy. Simple is my preferred method.

      I want my readers to be a part of this journey. I want them to feel as if they are experiencing it for themselves. Most of all, I want readers to ENJOY reading this blog.

      Thank you for your continued support.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

