Day 16 of PiBoIdMo 2015

I enjoyed making it through another challenge. This is too much fun! That is a good thing, right? Of course it is! We are supposed to have fun when we write. It is hard to believe that I have completed half of the challenges. Even more so, I have not quit yet! I did not let my falling behind hold me back.

Today’s blog article was written by Katya Szewczuk. I have to say that I loved the picture of her with it. What cute, little kitty ears! I love cats! This article was about how we get to know our characters better. By pretending to be them, making decisions from their point of view, and even bringing them to life on paper – by drawing. Katya offered her views on topics such as bringing our characters to life to crafting them. That (crafting them) is where the drawing surfaced. She included some prompts, that helped her move forward in her writing and character development, for when she begins working on her project. I loved the prompts…especially the kitty one. To date, this is one of the most enlightening posts I have read.

I never thought to draw my characters to aid in their creation. That will be fun. Thank goodness the picture does not have to perfect! Whew! To spend a day, in real life, in the shoes of the characters, was another wonderful idea. I always did like to pretend when I was a kid. It might have driven my grandparents insane, but I did not care. I was having fun. A back story for my character? That will be a new adventure for me to write. I love how this challenge helps us come up with more ideas! I now have other writer weapons to add to my creative arsenal – you do too.

For those who would like to read this article, here is your link:

Katya Szewczuk Plays Pretend

As I end this post, I would like to leave you with this favorite quote of mine:

“So remember, playing pretend, crafting your characters and writing back-stories isn’t a crime. It’s a gift you can give to your characters.”

Happy Pretending!

Leave a Reply

