Day 11 of PiBoIdMo 2015

After completing this challenge, I will only have to do one more before being completely caught up – again. It is nice to be part of this challenge. I seem to be coming along just fine. Plus, I am happy to say, there are a couple of my writing friends who are also doing well. I am proud of them. So, I would like to take this moment, to give them a shout out. Go Vicki and Dee! Keep it up girls! We are almost halfway there! We can do this!

I enjoyed the article, written for Day 11, by Joe McGee. His theme for the article reminded me of Pike Nursery’s “Come play in the dirt again.” Joe’s was more like, “Be a kid again.” He is right about that. We are writing for children. To do that, we have to think and act like a kid. Go ahead and bring out those finger-paints! Look at the world through the eyes of a child. Try to put yourself back into the mind-frame you had when YOU were a kid. See the world through THOSE eyes. One of my favorite quotes of Joe’s sums it up perfectly.

“Truly put yourself in their shoes, with their limitations, experiences, understanding and perception.”

What kinds of stuff do they like? Of course, making mud pies is on every child’s list. I am sure that we have all made one. Let me tell you something, that is the worst tasting “pie” ever! That will break any kid from having a sweet tooth! So, back to my question…What do kids like? They love to ask questions! Children are very inquisitive. These questions can guide you to what interests them.  Why not turn those questions into a picture book? It is a creative way to answer their questions, right?

You know what I liked when I was a kid? Rainbow Brite, Strawberry Shortcake (the original), Care Bears, My Little Pony, Jem and the Holograms (the original). I used to watch those shows all the time. Oh! Do not forget about Thunder Cats, Voltron, He-man and the Defenders of the Universe, as well as She-ra! My list could go on! Every once in a while, I can still catch some of the original shows on television. Guess what I do? I watch them and relive those wonderful moments of my childhood!

If you would like to read the article by Joe McGee, here is the link for your convenience:

Joe McGee Lives in a Child’s World

So, get out those old cartoon DVDs and watch them. (By the way, if you have any DVDs of the above-mentioned cartoons from the 1980s, would you please let me borrow them? I will send them back in excellent shape. Thanks!)

Time to set off on that trip down memory lane. I already have my bags packed. Would you like to join me? Well, come on, our adventure awaits!

2 thoughts on “Day 11 of PiBoIdMo 2015

  1. Thanks for mentioning me! =) Another great blog. I loved that you mentioned all those cartoons from long ago. I’d forgotten about She-ra, lol. Anyway, I used to make mud pies, too! In fact, I have an early reader story I wrote about a child and a dog and mud pie. Nice way to end your blog, too, with your bags packed… ready for memory lane. I like that a lot. Clever!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

