Day 10 of PiBoIdMo 2015

Okay, so I fell behind again. That is quite alright. It is less behind than I was when I first started this challenge. I have to admit, it has taken a lot of determination to get all of my entries caught up. I did it once and can do it again. The thing that has shocked me most, during the first days of PiBoIdMo, is the determination that drove me to have all my entries caught up within five days. Remember, I signed up for PiBoIdMo when it was four days in. Which proves to me that, if I can do it, so can you. I have got your back. Just call me the “PiBoIdMo Cheer Bear.” If you caught the reference, that gives you another level of awesomeness. I love Care Bears.

The article for Day 10 was written by Janna Matthies. Before going any further, I would like to offer her a BIG congratulations. Her book, Two Is Enough, was released today. Well, technically, November 10, 2015, since this post is a little late. There was a special reason, although it may seem morbid to others, I enjoyed this article. Her books were based on her family’s real life struggles – including cancer. I have lost quite a few people I loved to that mess. The books mentioned in this article were metaphors for the battles they faced. I will give one of the examples used by Janna. Her book, Peter, The Knight With Asthma, is a metaphor for asthma. “The brave knight is the child empowered to fight and tame his disease.” Guess what the dragon of the story is? The metaphor for Peter’s asthma. There was something that Janna said, that really spoke to me. It is also something that is very true.

“Your tough experiences, and those of people you love, can be fodder for meaningful children’s books.”

The way she writes her books is inspiring. Janna not only addresses tough topics in simple to understand terms, especially for children, but also offers hope. I know writing about painful experiences can be difficult, but it also aids in the healing process of the one writing. There is also a bonus involved. What could possibly be a bonus, you ask? You could have just helped someone, who is going through a similar experience, to cope with the situation – with your book.

I learned something else in this article. Did you know, that these particular books by Janna, fell under the category of “bibliotherapy books?” Who would have known? I did not know that!

Janna has a question for all of us. So, I will post it here for all to see. What are your answers? Feel free to reply to this post below. I would love to hear them.

“What are the tough topics in the narrative of your life or in the lives of children you love? Consider taking some of these and giving them a shot at redemption through a picture book. What story can you create that will inspire young readers toward hope?”

Thanks to this article, I now have even more ideas than I ever thought possible. I love Janna’s positive attitude. It is refreshing to my soul.

Janna’s article can be found here:

Janna Matthies Gets Tough

May your healing begin and hope be renewed.

2 thoughts on “Day 10 of PiBoIdMo 2015

    • It is easy to get “too emotionally involved,” Vicki. You are bearing your soul when writing about the more painful topics. You relive the pain, shame, and other negative emotions associated with them.

      I am inspired and almost caught up. It is a wonderful feeling. Maybe my inspiration will rub off on you, Vicky.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

