Day 8 of PiBoIdMo 2015

Hallelujah! I have completed the challenge for Day 8! One more challenge to complete, and BAM, I am caught up. I do not mean to sound egotistical, but, I have to pride myself on how far I have come in this challenge. I joined five days ago, when the first week of challenges had already begun. To be on Day 8, and it taking me five days to get almost completely caught up, is amazing. Why,  you may ask? Because I have to be one of the world’s best procrastinators. I can set goals, and have my mind on reaching them in a good time frame, but fall flat on my face before I do. I keep putting it off. Well, with the PiBoIdMo, it is different. I actually get excited about it. I think about it all the time, and I am pretty sure my co-workers are tired of me talking about it by now. Yes, I think about this challenge while at work. Boy, it seems like the shift cannot end fast enough for me. I would rather be writing. Of course, we all know that the bills have to be paid somehow, right?

The article for Day 8 was written by Samantha Berger. She is the author of quite a few books. She is quirky too! I like it! Samantha is the rhyme champ in my eyes. I read her article and was completely astounded. It was all written in the form of a rhyming poem! She is really good at that! I envy her for it. I cannot rhyme worth a flying flip. The best part about the way she wrote the article? The points she wanted to make DID NOT get lost in it at all. I repeat, the points Samantha wanted to make DID NOT get lost within it. Talk about some talent! The main theme was inspiration can hit anywhere. So, ladies and gentlemen, keep a pen and small notepad in your purse or briefcase. You never know where you will be when an idea knocks on your brain’s front door.

As for me, I do one of those things already. I always have a pen (or pens – call me a pen collector, if you will) in my purse or somewhere. I have easy access to them at work, which is fine by me, because I am not stupid enough to take a purse to my current job. There are no lockers in my department, so it stays at home. I have a tendency to write ideas on napkins, on the back of receipts, and anything I else I can get a hold of. My desk is a war zone from all the scattered pieces laying around. Now, where did I just see my notebook? Just kidding. At least I know where my pen and notebook is.  Okay, time to get back on track with this post.

The suggestions offered by Samantha resonated with me. In fact, it reminded me of a previous blog article I read. Two authors with similar advice. That is what I call divine guidance.  I have heard it said, that it is divine guidance when you hear the same thing more than once – it can come from different sources, even if it comes packaged in a paraphrase. Or, it can be a thought that keeps repeating itself, as a result of a question (or a plea for some sign) to know what to do next. The gist of it is still there. For this particular instance, it is about that dreaded inner critic we all love to hate. I would like to share Samantha’s suggestions with you below – in her words.

  1. Check your self-editor at the door.

Ah, yes, that pest again. That inner critic does not quit, does she? This inner critic reminds me of a spider and how one wants to avoid it at all costs. However, no matter how hard you try, you seem to run into one – no matter what. It is like they know you cannot stand them, so they go out of their way to find you – just to torment you.

2. Go back and touch base with your child within.

Remember when life was much more simple? You did not have to think about adult things such as paying bills, getting a job, or anything like that. All you did was play in the sandbox, look at the world with awe and wonder, and just be a kid. As we grow older, somewhere along the line, we lose contact with our inner child. It is because real life hits us head on, and we have to grow up. It is just the cycle of life. However, when that happens, we find ourselves with a ho-hum attitude. That sense of wonder you used to have, does not seem to exist anymore. It is lost. Or is it? Here are some of my personal suggestions on getting back in touch with that child within.

  • Go outside and find a butterfly (a flower will do too) – really look at it and admire it the way you did when you were a child. I love butterflies. I enjoy watching them fly. I even watched one go through each of its developmental stages as a child. That was the coolest thing I ever saw. If you chose a flower, feel its petals, leaves, and stem. Play in the dirt around it. It feels nice, right?
  • Spin around in a circle like you did back then. Was it not fun to get dizzy? Trying to walk straight was the funny part. I lost count of how many times I face-planted the ground because of it.
  • Grab some color crayons, colored pencils, markers or whatever. Get a coloring book or sketchbook. Color a picture (regular or color-by-number), do the connect-the-dots activity if there is one, or draw. Something that connects you with the child you once were.

Of course there are numerous ideas, but I will stop there.

Last, but not least, is Samantha’s final suggestion in her article.

3. Challenge yourself with a daily tradition.

This could be anything from writing 500 words to writing a chapter of your work-in-progress. Just make sure you do it every day – preferably at the same time every day and in the same place. If you cannot do that, I am sure you will find a way to get that writing done. Do not make me bring out the superglue. I am not afraid to glue your butt to that chair. Most of all, make sure you have fun with your writing.

As is my tradition, here is the link to the article I wrote about in my blog post.

Samantha Berger Is Ready For It

To all you writers out there: I am watching and have my superglue ready.

Good luck in all your endeavors – writing and otherwise.

2 thoughts on “Day 8 of PiBoIdMo 2015

  1. There were a few things here that really spoke to me. One was the divine guidance comment. I’ve had that happen and it’s kind of eerie. Not really eerie, but to experience that moment of “WOW! Maybe this is fate calling!” The other one, is touching base with your inner child. I find so much of my inner child in my grandkids. And I also visit the local library 1-2 times a week and bring home a big tote of picture books and I read them all. I study them, too. Thanks for another great entry in your blog, Cindy! And congratulations on your success with PiBoIdMo thus far!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Vicki, for another wonderful comment. I am glad you enjoy my blog and that it speaks to you. That is always a good sign.

      Thanks to your suggestion, I might just go to the local library on my next off day. I want to check out some books on writing, as well as some children’s and YA books. We, as writers for children and young adults, must read books in that genre. It does not hurt to keep up to date on the marketing side of it either. We must keep accurate information, right?

      Thanks for the congratulations. I have worked very hard to get caught up – to the point that my husband has to MAKE me take a break!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

