Day 5 of PiBoIdMo 2015

The countdown is still on for me. I have two more challenges to complete after this. Thank goodness I am not panicking about it. Otherwise, there might be a problem.

With David Michael Slater’s blog article for Day 5, I managed to come up with four things that could inspire future picture books – based on things I had been told by my parents as a child. I also came up with three possible titles. Way to go me!

This article was about ideas and how they come about. As mentioned above, mine came from what I was told when I was little. David shared the ideas he had that resulted from things he was told by his family. My favorite idea of David’s has to be the one that turned into, “The Ring Bear.” This book resulted from an incident his sister told him about.  She was at a wedding with her son, who was five years old at the time. When she told him that the ring bearer was coming out soon. Her son misunderstood what was said. He thought that an actual bear was bringing the rings and panicked – he missed the “-er” part of “ring bearer.” Who can blame him, right? Poor little guy! I know I would have probably ran out that door in a hurry -whether I was five or thirty-seven years old! David also spoke about traditional structure, as well as the difference between a simple and fertile premise. His article was both informative and inspirational. He even mentions the “screenwriting guru,” Robert McKee. McKee has a few good quotes. This one is my favorite:

“The principle of CREATIVE LIMITATION calls for freedom within a circle of obstacles. Talent is like a muscle; without something to push against, it atrophies.”

Another one of favorite quotes of Robert McKee is this:

“TRADITIONAL STRUCTURE

A rule says, “You must do it this way.” A principle says, “This works…and has through all remembered time.”

“Stories are about eternal, universal forms, not formulas.”

So, keep those eyes and ears open for ideas for your picture books. You never know what you are going to get. As David says, “You never know which one will be the one that blooms.”

If you would like to read the article mentioned above, here is the link for it.

David Michael Slater Listens

2 thoughts on “Day 5 of PiBoIdMo 2015

Leave a Reply

