Day 3 of PiBoIdMo 2015

It is the third day of the PiBoIdMo challenge. Although still behind, I am getting closer to being caught up. Another day’s completion under my belt, and three to go. Even though this challenge is low pressure, it still makes my mind think in overdrive. My brain is still whirring when I lay down to sleep. All I think about is this challenge and how excited I am being a part of it.

The article for Day 3 was by Grace Lin. She is the author of the Ling & Ting series. I love the title of her series. In her article, Grace spoke about her experiences as a children’s author. One of her quotes that fit this challenge well is this, “And I realized every single one of my books has begun as a picture book idea.” That is what Picture Book Idea Month is all about. However, there were some things Grace said, that really spoke to me.

One: “But some ideas shouldn’t be distilled. Extracting only the essential story can make it lose it nuances. Some ideas need many facets to shine.”

Two: “But before you throw yourself into a pit of despair, consider this: maybe your picture book idea is not for a picture book. Maybe it’s the perfect idea for an early reader, a novel, a board book, or short story.”

Grace is right. You might have ideas that you believe will make the perfect picture book, but that book may be trying to say there is more to it. This means that it would be a better story if it were expanded into something bigger. That “something bigger” could be an early reader, novel, board book, or even a short story. Who knows? If your picture book “feels” wrong, as if it should not be what it is, try rewriting it another way and see what is best for you.

This article was both inspirational and enlightening. I pulled out my spiral notebook and wrote down the ideas that came to me. I am thankful for the articles that are connected to each day of this challenge. What a great way to be inspired, get those ideas out of your head and onto the paper.

If you would like to read this article, I have included the link for you.

When Grace Lin’s Picture Book Idea Isn’t a Picture Book

Stay inspired and do not give up. You may have a long way to go, but the finish line is just up ahead. Write on!

2 thoughts on “Day 3 of PiBoIdMo 2015

  1. I really enjoyed this post because it talks about how if something doesn’t feel right to restructure it and see if it works in another way. The creative ideas we have can’t be limited to one form or we won’t get anywhere. It’s important to experiment with the idea and tease it out for what it’s meant to be. I look forward to reading more of your thoughts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am glad you enjoyed my post. Thank you for reading it. On a personal note, I have had poems that ended up transforming into an essay instead. The words I wrote just did not want to be a poem. They wanted to be that essay. I look forward to reading more of your comments. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

