Picture Book Idea Month Challenge 2015

PiBoIdMo 2015 Participant Badge

A writing friend of mine made a forum post about the PiBoIdMo (Picture Book Idea Month). This will be her second, or maybe third, year that she is participating. After thinking about this, what seems to be around the clock, I decided that I would give it a try. I know I may be a few days behind, but I do not see how I cannot participate and catch up.

What is PiBoIdMo, you ask? As mentioned above, the acronym stands for “Picture Book Idea Month.” It is an annual event that lasts for thirty days. In those thirty days, anything can happen. Ideas for picture books, character sketches, plots, or anything related to writing for children will surface. It prepares you for possible children’s books to write in the near future. Each day, there are blog posts from a plethora of Children’s and YA book authors, as well as agents. These posts are where participants get their inspiration from. It is hosted by Tara Lazar. You can access her blog through here: http://www.taralazar.com. This is also where you find the blog posts from various authors that take part.

I have a dream to write for children and teenagers. I want to be a published Children’s and YA (Young Adult) author. Although it is similar to the NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) that is every November, I doubt this is as stressful as that. Trust me, I know. I have participated in NaNoWriMo a couple of times. It is stressful!

So, I will give it a go and see what PiBoIdMo is like. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

